MLB Awards Week: Yankees’ Gerrit Cole, Padres’ Blake Snell win Cy Young

MLB Awards Week: Yankees' Gerrit Cole, Padres' Blake Snell win Cy Young

Welcome to MLB Awards Week.

As we look ahead to 2024 and await some of the offseason’s biggest free agent signings (where will you go, Shohei Ohtani?), we celebrate the best players in the game during the 2023 regular season.

The week started off with Baltimore’s Gunnar Henderson unanimously winning American League Rookie of the Year honors and Corbin Carroll also winning unanimously in the National League. Next up, Henderson’s skipper, Brandon Hyde, took home AL Manager of the Year, with Skip Schumaker taking home the NL silverware.

On Wednesday, San Diego’s Blake Snell took home his second Cy Young Award — this time in the NL, after having previously won in the AL in 2018 — while New York’s Gerrit Cole unanimously won the AL’s Cy Young, the first in his career.

The awards schedule is as follows (all awards announced starting at 6 p.m. ET):

Monday: Jackie Robinson Rookies of the Year: Corbin Carroll, Gunnar Henderson

Tuesday: Managers of the Year: Brandon Hyde, Skip Schumaker

Wednesday: Cy Young Awards: Blake Snell, Gerrit Cole

Thursday: MVP Awards

Below, we list the three finalists in each category, along with what you need to know before the results are announced and our picks to take home the hardware. We’ll update each section with news and analysis from Bradford Doolittle as the awards are handed out.

Jump to … :
Rookie of the Year: AL | NL
Manager of the Year: AL | NL
Cy Young: AL | NL

American League Cy Young